cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Where’s the Cake???

DSCN2080

I haven’t posted since September.  That doesn’t mean I haven’t been baking.  It just means I’ve been too busy to share my kitchen adventures with you.  I’ve only made a couple of cakes since then, and I have been without a decent camera to photograph them.  Right now, I am working on three cakes that will be posted (I promise) over the next several weeks.

I decided that I really want a new camera, but I am trying to watch my pennies.  I am determined to earn my camera money by selling off a few things I no longer need and scouring the sofa and car seats for loose change.  My goal is to do this before the first cake is due (Feb 1st).  We’re getting close and I’m only half way there.  Anybody want to buy a thimble collection?

In the meantime, I stumbled across a most amazing website.   www.craftsy.com.  One of my biggest complaints is that there are very few, if any, affordable cake decorating classes nearby.  Yes, there are the Wilton classes at the local Michael’s stores, but those aren’t what I am looking for.  I wanted to learn about advanced flower making and chocolate sculpting, 3D cakes and fancy flourishes.  Those classes are usually found in NY or Atlanta and cost hundreds to attend.  Again, I only have one car and one sofa to scour for change.  Craftsy has changed my life (okay, that’s a little dramatic).  But seriously, I purchased (for less than $20 each) several classes that I can attend at my own convenience, in my own home, and repeat as often as necessary.  These classes are presented by the top cake designers in the industry.  They are thorough and provide lots of printed materials.  They not only offer cake decorating, but just about any other kind of craft you can think of.  Just today, I purchased a class on product photography – you know, for when I can afford that camera.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

