cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Sweet Sixteen – Rachel’s All Grown Up!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When did that happen?  It doesn’t seem plausible that our babies are young women now.  Rachel and my youngest daughter have been together since preschool.  Although they no longer share their daily lives, they have remained close.  Our families are FAMILY.

Typically, the cake making duties for Rachel’s birthdays belong to her “Aunt” Meg.  These cakes are always beautiful and delicious. Unfortunately, shortly before the party, Meg twisted her knee and was unable to make the cake.  I was her “understudy” in this situation, so the spatula was handed down to me.

The color teal, white cake, and peanut butter filling were the only requests made.  I decided to try out one of my new pillow pans for the top layer.  That was so much fun to make.  I wasn’t sure what to top the cake off with, so I went with car keys.

Unbeknownst (up till now) to Rachel’s mother, Barb, I refered to this cake during production as “The Cake from Hell”.  I made the mistake of making my own teal fondant.  The first batch went directly into the trash.  The second batch went reluctantly onto the cake.  I will never, ever stray from my beloved commercial fondant again!  I made peanut butter mousse for the filling.  I loved it – flavorwise that is.  I filled the cake, crumb coated it, and set it aside to set up.  It didn’t.  That top layer slid in every direction!  When I covered it with the fondant, the filling bulged out the sides – hence the zebra band around the middle.  Then there was the “zebra striped” cake.  I colored the batter teal and attempted to make teal / white zebra stripes that would be visible upon cutting.  It looked more like green blobs – I’ll have to work on that technique.

It all eventually came together and I was even pleased with it overall.  Rachel liked it, and that’s what counted most.  It was a wonderful party with excellent food and great guests.  It was good to see Meg on the mend.  I hope the next time I have to do one of their family cakes, it is because she is out-of-town – not on the floor!

One comment on “Sweet Sixteen – Rachel’s All Grown Up!

  1. Barb Mongelluzzo
    September 12, 2012

    I need to check my email more often..had no idea of the trials and tribulations of this cake! You make it look so easy! Thank you, Thank you for coming through in such short notice – everyone loved the cake!!! Love that our friendship, and our girls’, continues after 12 years! Here’s to many more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

