cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Remember Me?

It has been quite awhile since my last post.  I’ve been busier than usual and have taken a cake hiatus.  In March, my family moved from our home of 22 years.  We are still working on getting the old house empty, but it is so time-consuming.  I’m starting to believe that after living without some of that stuff for the last two months, I probably don’t really need any of it!  It is amazing how much can be accumulated in 22 years – especially if you have an attic and a basement!

Last month, we hosted a house concert at our new home.  We moved all of our furniture out of the living room and set up seats for 30 guests.  The performers, Cosy Sheridan & TR Ritchie were wonderful, as usual.  We always love having them stay with us, and 4Epilepsy gets a chance to build up its campership fund.

Also in April, we had the opportunity to host a German exchange student – Jule (pronounced “U-La”).  She was a wonderful addition to our family over the Easter holidays.  We were on the go and enjoyed a lot of nearby sites that are usually overlooked by us “locals”.  I did get to make a cake for the welcome party for the students.  Funny story…Jule, in her pretty-good English asked me, “What is the top of?”  I proceeded to (try) explain about Rice Krispy treats and modeling chocolate when she stopped me and said, “No, what does it mean???”  She had no idea what significance the Liberty Bell had to the patriot theme of the cake!  Those kind of moments were so funny.  It was a learning experience for all of us.

And to bring you all up to date cakewise, yesterday I made a Thomas the Tank cake for our little friend Trevor.  He turned two and I am still left wondering where the time has gone.  I took advantage of the fresh Jersey strawberries that we so readily have at our fingertips.  It is a very short season, and I just can’t get enough of their sweet, juicy taste.  We are so spoiled to live in the midst of the best fresh produce anywhere!

Happy Mother’s Day.  With the exception of making strawberry shortcake and blueberry French toast this morning, I have actually set today aside to do nothing but enjoy my family.  I hope your day is exceptional too.

Leave a Reply

The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

