cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Gavin’s Giraffe

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, today I made my first big cake mistake.  I was asked to make a christening cake for a little boy.  The mom had seen one on my blog that she liked, but she wanted a giraffe instead of teddy bears.  It needed to be scaled down a bit, but otherwise it was to be the same cake.

In the two weeks since she had asked for the cake, my life has taken a few twists and turns.  I normally live at a pretty steady pace, but these last two weeks have been something else.  To say I am preoccupied would be an understatement.  In the back of my mind had been this little boy’s cake and at some point, it took on a life of its own.  The giraffe became the centerpiece, and the colors evolved from baby blue & white to brown, blue, green & white.  Oh, the quilting disappeared and the buttons with it!

After placing the finishing touches on the cake, I went back to my emails to check on the time she was picking it up.  Lo, and behold…I read the description of the cake I was supposed to make – and it wasn’t this one!  My stomach began doing a little dance and panic set in.  Thankfully, Gavin’s mom really liked the design and was a little relieved that it didn’t look like a cake I had already done.  I take away several golden nuggets from this…

  1. When a cake is requested via email, I will re-write it on a standard form
  2. Life happens – I just can’t take on everything at once
  3. There are a lot of really nice people in the world (thanks, Tara!)
One comment on “Gavin’s Giraffe

  1. Joanne
    February 13, 2012

    This is quite an adorable mistake Ann. I love it and the colors look great together. YOU ARE JUST AMAZING !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

