cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Thinking Ahead

I know it’s still January, but it’s been awhile since I’ve done a cake and I’ve been itching to try something new.  Valentine’s Day is just around the corner and I’ve seen so many pretty heart cakes out there.  Maybe I was just looking for an excuse to buy some new pans!  I also wanted to try out a bundt recipe in a solid shape.  I figure it’s better to experiment a little before I make the real thing for someone’s special occasion.

This cake was different in that it is half the height of my usual cakes.  I only used one cake and split it to add a jam filling.  I didn’t fill it with any cream in order to keep the height to a minimum.  I guess that the chocolate covered cherries that adorn the top make up for the “missing” layer of cake.  Everything is edible with the exception of the paper candy wraps and the cardboard support for the lid.

My only problem now is figuring out what to do with the cake – it’s too early to give as a Valentine!

5 comments on “Thinking Ahead

  1. Briana
    January 15, 2012

    I’ll help you do something with it! I’m coming over today!

    Like

  2. Joanne
    January 16, 2012

    LOOKS GOOD ENOUGH TO EAT, AS ALWAYS !!! SO TEMPTING !!!

    Like

  3. seriallist
    January 17, 2012

    This is amazing!

    Like

    • cakedoodles
      January 18, 2012

      Thanks. We ate it the same day! My family loves when I experiment.

      Like

  4. salonmill
    February 10, 2012

    Wow AMAZINGGGGG

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

