cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

The Gingerbread Project – Stage II

I had great expectations for a weekend of gingerbread building with my daughter…only to be totally distracted with laundry, homework, doctors, and Santa Clause.  Okay, I’ll admit, the Santa thing with the grandbabies was the best distraction I could ever have!  I spent Saturday in Philly with my daughters, grandkids, and best friend Lisa.  The weather was clear and nippy and the mood was festive.  I’m so glad I took a day away from all of the seasonal duties.

My daughter and I did manage to get a few things done on the project between Saturday night and tonight.  We finished up the fondant decorations and applied them to the house sides.  It is amazing how different it looks when you start to apply the trims.  The worst part was the tiny little chicklets – they kept sticking to my fingers.  I was a little worried about the windows, since last week’s humidity softened the candy and they were sticky.  But once the cooler temps hit, everything firmed up nicely.

I purchased a small set of battery operated LED lights to use inside of the house.  I really wasn’t too fussy about positioning them inside the house, so hopefully they have the effect we are going for.

Tonight, we made up a batch of icing and put all of the pieces together.  The recipe included with the house plans was very easy, and not bad-tasting either.  It worked well with positioning and holding the pieces in place.  The only iffy pieces were the roof sections, but we propped a can underneath each lower edge to hold them in place.  We won’t be adding the “thatch” until the icing has hardened and the house has some stability.

I won’t post the current “as is” photo yet – I don’t want to spoil the surprise.  Looking at it now, you might think it was done.  I know we have a lot of detail work left to do.  My husband can’t wait until we’re done so he can have the nuts and candy that’s leftover.  I am hoping to be done by the weekend or sooner.  Stay tuned…

One comment on “The Gingerbread Project – Stage II

  1. Briana
    December 15, 2011

    Please can you post more pictures. I don’t want to wait until it’s finished to see it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

