cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Good Friends and a Christening Cake

I had the most amazing day today.  Why?  I spent my day sitting on a porch with an ocean breeze, reminiscing with my lifetime girlfriends.  It was even more amazing because I don’t really make time for days like this – but I am going to in the future.  It was a great way to recharge after a very busy and hectic summer.  Days like this are rare, but important – not everyone can share a sisterhood that spans almost 50 years.  Thanks Paula (and Grande Miguel) for being the hostess with the mostess and for Lisa, Donna, and Martha for sharing the day with me.

The day came about because Paula asked me to make a Christening cake for her.  As usual, I had no idea what I was going to do until this past week.  Her request was for 1 layer of white and 1 layer of chocolate – and enough cake to feed 30 people.  The design evolved from formal rosary beads to the cutsie nursery theme that we ended up with.  Thanks again to a very generous customer for giving me the reigns to come up with her design.

I started making the top pieces, buttons, bows, and trims last weekend.  I was nervous about this project on a few levels:  1) I never covered a square cake with fondant before, 2) I had never made gumpaste characters, and 3) I never “quilted” a cake before.  I can no longer say that, and to be honest, I did not find any of these things to be any harder than techniques that I had already done.  Thanks to the wonderful tutorials I found online, I was able to handle the job.  Paula and Mike were happy with the cake and I hope she will get the reaction she is hoping for.  Congratulations Jacob Thomas!

4 comments on “Good Friends and a Christening Cake

  1. sandy
    September 11, 2011

    This is absolutely amazing!Love the buttons!

    Like

  2. JOYCE BERNARDINI
    September 11, 2011

    LOVE IT! ESP THE BOWS!! GREAT JOB, AS USUAL

    Like

  3. Joanne
    September 12, 2011

    Just adorable Ann, perfect as always !!!!

    Like

  4. Lisa Breining
    September 12, 2011

    Hi! This is Paula’s cousin Lisa and Jake’s (Jacob Thomas) mom. I just wanted to say thank you very much for an amazing cake! It not only looked wonderful it tasted wonderful. It was almost too adorable to eat 🙂 It really made the day so very special for all of us. I actually will be contacting you to do a cake for my older son Aiden’s 4th birthday in October! Thanks so much again – Lisa Breining.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

