cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

We Survived Hurricane Irene!

Wow!  I’ve never really prepped for a hurricane before.  We had everything ready…water, flashlights, batteries, medications – we even scanned our most important documents onto a flash drive.  I suppose the most important preparations were in the way of stocking my baking pantry. 

When the weather is bad, I bake even more than usual.  And after visiting Facebook last night, it seems that I am not alone.  Baking and cooking seem to be a common occurence when it looks like we’re going to be cooped up for a few days.  Or maybe…the common thread isn’t really food prep – maybe it’s consumption!

To this day, my kids expect fried doughnuts on snow days.  That all started back in 1987 when I lived at the end of a very narrow, winding road.  We got snowed in and I had nothing in the way of real food in my cupboards or refrigerator.  Of course, even back then, I could be counted on to have plenty of sugar, flour, eggs and vanilla.  After scouring my shelves, I figured I had all of the essentials to make doughnuts.  My daughter was 5 at the time and she certainly wasn’t going to complain.  We ate doughnuts for 3 days!  I don’t really care for them anymore, but my daughter has asked for them ever since and even passed that expectation on to her little sis.

I wanted to get several things done before our electricity ceased to work.  1. Laundry (see, I have priorities)  2. Peanut Butter Cookies   3.  Chocolate Chip Cookies   4.  Chocolate Chips with Craisins   5.  Chocolate Chips with Craisins & Pecans   6.  Homemade Sloppy Joes.  I also wanted to try my hand at Linzer cookies, but I ran out of steam. 

The kids came over with my grandbabies to spend the night and we just hung around.  Our living room became a campsite with inflatable mattresses and baby equipment.  It was fun (although I wouldn’t want to do it every night).  With the morning came the realization that Irene spared us any real problems and that we could return to our daily routines on Monday – business as usual.  I understand that many others were not so lucky, and our thoughts and prayers are with them.

3 comments on “We Survived Hurricane Irene!

  1. Joanne
    August 29, 2011

    Sounds like lots of fun to me Ann !!!! Hope you got to squeeze those babies a lot too !!!! We are reaping the rewards of some of your baking today. You are amazing !!!!

    Like

  2. Briana
    August 29, 2011

    Why weren’t there any doughnuts?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

