cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Family Tree

On Sunday, the southern clan met up with the northern clan for a small gathering of Measley’s.  Since my father’s passing two and a half years ago, I really cherish the occasions when I can spend time with his brother and my cousins – especially when it is not for another funeral!  It was so nice to see everyone and to introduce our newest arrivals to the family.

To mark this special day, I decided to (betcha can’t guess)…make a cake.  I had some colored fondant left over from a few recent cakes, and plenty of flour and sugar.  My goal was to make the cake without buying anything.  Not an easy task for someone who is addicted to molds, cutters, and anything else found at www.sugarcraft.com

I had the most of green and blue fondant, and some yellow.  I also had a conglomerate of colors that could easily work into a nice brown.  After some thought, I decided to do a “family tree” theme.  I would even be able to incorporate my Cricut Cake to assist with the production.  I liked the idea, as it went nicely with the whole “family” vibe that I had in my head.

Before I even started on the cake, I remembered I had about 18 sugar cookies already made and in the freezer.  My cousin Bonnie never had a chance to taste them at my daughter’s shower – thanks to her son eating what she brought home.  These were from a much fresher batch and just waiting to be decorated.  I decided to coordinate them with the cake and give them to Bonnie as a thank you for hosting our gathering.

Everyone always asks me about the “hours” that I put into my cakes.  To be honest, the time I spend decorating is usually very therapeutic.  I don’t look at it as work.  I’m sure that is because I am not working in a bakery meeting the demands of the public.  This past Saturday was spent at a leisurely pace, baking, decorating, and doing laundry in between.  I don’t get many days like that, so I am thankful when I do.

I based my design loosely on a baby quilt that my daughter had liked and shown to me.  After getting the tree on the top of the cake, the little embellishments pulled it all together – the apples, flowers, and leaves.  I tied a yellow fabric ribbon around the sides with a little bow in the front, but it still needed something else.  I set it aside for a few hours and ran some errands.

I eventually decided to add a scroll around half of the cake on the side.  Growing up with a name like Measley, I heard just about every joke you could make out of a name.  A play on words can be fun, and that is why I decided to write on the scroll: “From a measley seed, grew our family tree.”

Despite the torrential downpour and a few missing Measleys, the day was perfect.  We enjoyed an afternoon together that will carry us until we can do it again.

3 comments on “Family Tree

  1. sandy
    August 15, 2011

    LoVe the cake and the Story! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Briana
    August 16, 2011

    It’s funny that you mentioned the baby quilt! That was my first thought when I saw the cake & cookies…it reminded me of that bedding set!!!! Everything was so beautiful & it tasted even better!

    Like

  3. Joanne
    August 16, 2011

    Ann you are just amazing !!!! Very creative and DELICIOUS TOO !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

