cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

The Wedding Cake – Done, Done, Done!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, it’s over.  The cake is finished, cut, and eaten.  When my sister and I were assembling it at the venue, I commented to her that I figured someone was praying for me because it went off without a hitch.  I was later told by my bride’s mother that she was praying for me throughout the morning.  God is good.

I kept to a fairly tight schedule on Thursday and Friday nights, and over-packed for my work at the venue.  The top 3 layers were completely decorated before packing them up and the lower two tiers were covered with fondant only.  My thinking was that the lowest tier was large enough to pose a cracking risk so I wanted to be able to cover up any flaws with the harlequin design.  I also transported that tier sitting on a 3/4″ board to avoid the cracking – it worked.  Unfortunately, I had to spend a lot of time at the venue decorating the lower tier.  Next time, I’ll decorate it before I go.

The flowers…I made just enough of the roses, lilies, and ivy clusters (6 of each).  I had a few filler pieces and I made plenty of hydrangea.  I had no idea what it was going to look like.  After stacking the first and second tiers, I began arranging the flowers.  Everything fit nicely and I used a little more than half of the hydrangea.  To transport them, I poked holes in large egg cartons (30 spaces) and set the wire through the hole.  This was great because the sides of the carton protected the fragile hydrangea.  There was no breakage of my flowers during transit.  This came as a surprise, as the flowers tend to be so brittle. 
Top Tier
Bride’s Cake

The bride and her parents loved the cake, and for once, I have to admit that I did too.  My family is always saying that I am way to critical of my work, but this is the first time that I really couldn’t complain.  The cake itself must have been good, as I didn’t notice any leftovers as I was leaving the reception.  All in all, it was a beautiful wedding day – for the bride and groom, their families, and the cake.  Never doubt the power of prayer.

Click here to see more photos of this cake.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2011 by in First Wedding Cake.
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

