cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

The Wedding Cake – Making Progress

I have to say…I am somewhat amazed at how well things are going.  It is often difficult for me to focus and work in a linear fashion.  I’m more inclined to be all over the place, so for once I decided to work out a schedule.  That doesn’t mean that I will necessarily follow the schedule, but it will keep me from being all haphazard.  I’ve done smaller projects without the “to do” list and frankly those cakes posed more problems that this one.  Note to self:  ALL cakes begin with a schedule.

I don’t want to post any pictures of the finished cakes until after the wedding.  I have been taking progress photos and I’ll show those on Sunday.  The cakes are iced and covered with fondant.  I completed the bride’s cake (top tier) and picked up her topper tonight.  All along I’ve been worried about how each cake will relate to the other because I am doing a variety of decorations.  I think it is going to be fine.  I am going to offset the busier tiers with simpler ones in between.

I did get to try out a new toy on this cake.  I purchased an impression rolling-pin on eBay.  It was an inexpensive one, and trust me…you get what you pay for.  I was able to make it work, but eventually I will invest in a better quality pin.  This one is bowed so you have to keep moving your hands back and forth over the pin to apply pressure as you roll.  If purchasing any kind of rolling-pin, you want to be sure that it is straight.  The design is a rose lace pattern.  It looked lovely on the cake.

At this point I have two fears – Getting the bottom (16″) tier covered, and transporting everything to the venue in good shape.  I’m not stacking until I get there just because of the sheer size and weight of cake.  I have about a 45 minute drive.  My sister and I are going early Saturday morning to deliver and set it up.  Thankfully, traffic will be light that early in the morning so the drive should be easy.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2011 by in First Wedding Cake.
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

