cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

THE WEDDING CAKE – Getting Started

Sketch - Abby's Cake

I should have paid better attention in art class!

I just spent the entire weekend baking cake.  Carrot cake, chocolate cake, and white almond cake.  Big cakes, medium cakes, and small cakes.  Round cakes and square cakes.  This will be the largest cake I have attempted so far.  I thought making 300 cupcakes for my niece’s graduation party was something!  When I wasn’t baking, I was washing pans, bowls, and utensils.  The cake will serve approximately 290 guests.  The bride and her mother have been very generous in giving me artistic control over the look of the cake.  After meeting with them to get a feel for colors and design style, I developed my plan.  I am sure that by the time I am done, it will barely resemble what I “planned”.

I was so excited to arrive home from work today to see a large box on my doorstep.  The cake stand that I ordered had been delivered.  Upon opening the box, it was even more beautiful than I had expected.  Thank you Lion’s Deal for truly exceptional customer service and a wonderful product. 

My Inspiration - Something to strive for.

I had decided on a ring of gum paste flowers to adorn the base of the 2nd tier of the cake.  It will be all white with the exception of the calla lily centers, which are bright yellow (one of the bride’s accent colors).  You need a lot of flowers to go around a 12″ cake, so I spent tonight making most of them.  The photo here is exactly what I am hoping to achieve, although I’m not sure how close I’ll come.  I still have to attach 30 hydrangea flowers to their wires and figure out the best way to deliver all of these to the venue without too much breakage.

I may have to take tomorrow night off to attend a meeting at my daughter’s school.  I’m only making buttercream anyway – not much to write about.  Next step:  Torte & Crumb Coat on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2011 by in First Wedding Cake.
The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

