cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Obsession

Parisian Celebration

Carlie's 15th Birthday Cake

I am a newbie to the world of cake decorating and sugar art.  Too old and too broke to begin formal training, I use the internet to learn techniques for my cakes.  Let’s be perfectly clear:  THIS IS AN OBSESSION!

I have always baked and even dabbled (unsuccessfully) at decorating with buttercream.  The best I could do with that medium were the “kit” cakes – specialty pans decorated with buttercream using a star tip.  They were nice and the kids loved them – but I never got any real satisfaction from that kind of decorating.  I loved what talented cake designers could do with buttercream, but for some reason, my hands and brain would not come together to create anything so extraordinary.

I used to see fondant on the shelf at Michael’s.  It looked interesting, but I had heard such awful things about its taste and being difficult to work with that I steered clear of it.  Besides, there were other things out there that seemed more my speed.  I think my “downfall” began with the book, “Hello Cupcake” by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson.  The book was full of gorgeous cupcake designs that were broken down into simple step-by-step instructions with clear photos.  On top of that,  there were no trendy ingredients or fancy industry jargon. 

Cupcakes from the Garden

My version of Garden Cupcakes taken from the book, "Hello Cupcake"

After making my first cupcakes, I knew I needed to take this further.  Blame shows like Cake Boss or the likes of celebrity bakers such as Duff – whatever the cause, I was eventually tempted to try my hand at fondant.

A friend had seen my cupcakes posted on my Facebook page and asked if I “did” cakes.  I told her that I didn’t have any formal experience but that I would like to give it a try.  She asked me to make for her parents a celebration cake and I agreed.  To prepare for my undertaking, I thought it would be a good idea to take a beginner fondant course at Michael’s. 

1st Cake

The cake from the Wilton class at Michael's

In four classes, we learned to apply the fondant and make several basic kinds of gum paste flowers.  We had to purchase a small arsenal of tools and ingredients to complete the course.  This class did two things for me – one, it sealed my fate with respect to my fondant addiction (which, by the way, tastes very good); and two, it made me realize that I had some things to learn before I could take on making cakes for those outside of my close circle of friends and family.  I backed out of the celebration cake commitment due to time constraints and COLD FEET!

I did begin making cakes for our own family celebrations.  These cakes were bigger and more elaborate than the occasions called for, but it was good practice for me.   I posted everything on my Facebook page.  The feedback I received gave me the confidence to try bigger and better things.  One year later brings me to a larger arsenal of cake supplies, this blog, and my first wedding cake. 

Kristi's Cake

A cake for our favorite fashionista

This coming week, I will be writing about the trials and tribulations of THE WEDDING CAKE.  To be honest, I am really nervous.  5 tiers of something beautiful imagined in my head are supposed to somehow translate into 5 tiers of something beautiful AND delicious on a cake table next weekend.  Pray for me!

2 comments on “Obsession

  1. Nancy Burgos
    July 29, 2011

    OMG! YOU ARE TRULY AMAZING! If your cakes were not incredible (and time consuming) enough! …Now you have set up a BLOG!
    Beautiful! I wish you lots of luck for your Wedding Cake! Although, I know you do not need it! It will be a Masterpiece!

    Like

  2. JOYCE BERNARDINI
    August 1, 2011

    WOW, YOU ARE GETTING SO PROFESSIONAL… YOUR CAKES ARE GORGEOUS, AND NOW YOU HAVE A SITE TO GO ALONG WITH THEM. CONGRATULATIONS! CAN’T WAIT TO SEE THE NEXT CAKE!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2011 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

The Gingerbread Journal

Building a Sweet Life ….

Cake Paper Party

Do it yourself party ideas

tarttokig

A blog about my passion for all things sugar

:) Crafty Mama

Baking, crafting, and a love of all things rainbow.

VHS Disney Senior Trip 2014

Information about Vineland High School's upcoming senior class trip

cakedoodles

My sweet obsession

Delicious Cravings

Not Just Another Food Site!

salonmillennium

Just another WordPress.com site

BitterSweet

Sweet Musings with a Bitterly Sharp Wit

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

Kickasskakes's Blog

kick ass cakes

More Cakes Darling

For all those special moments, there is always cake!

